Brain Simulation Section

The focus of this group is personalized brain simulation. Prof. Dr. Ritter and her team at the Charité Department of Neurology with Experimental Neurology have joined forces with international partners to create the open-source neuroinformatics platform The Virtual Brain.

To produce the simulations, Ritter and her team are integrating data gathered from patients who have, for example, experienced a stroke or developed a brain tumor. The result is a personalized brain model for every patient, which contributes towards a better understanding of disease processes in the brain and enables the development of new therapy approaches.

The principle is simple: the more data scientists are able to integrate, the more precise the model becomes. The vision for the future is that the treatment of brain disorders will be planned using a digital copy of the person’s brain. The Virtual Brain also allows her and her team to simulate possible scenarios of disease progression, potentially allowing future treatment plans to be modified early on.

This website is currently under construction and will go online in autumn 2018.

Gehirnsimulation

Der Forschungsschwerpunkt dieser Arbeitsgruppe ist die personalisierte Gehirnsimulation. Dafür hat Prof. Dr. Petra Ritter gemeinsam mit ihrem Team an der Klinik für Neurologie mit Experimenteller Neurologie der Charité und internationalen Partnern die Informatikplattform The Virtual Brain aufgebaut, mit der Prozesse im menschlichen Gehirn am Computer simuliert werden.

Ritter und ihr Team integrieren Daten von Patientinnen und Patienten, die beispielsweise einen Schlaganfall erlitten haben oder an einem Gehirntumor erkrankt sind, in die Simulationen. Daraus ergeben sich dann auf den jeweiligen Patienten zugeschnittene Modelle, die für ein besseres Verständnis von Krankheitsprozessen im Gehirn beitragen und neue Therapieansätze ermöglichen.

Das Prinzip ist einfach: Je mehr Daten die Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler integrieren, desto präzisier werden die Modelle. Die Vision ist, dass die Behandlung einer Gehirnerkrankung in Zukunft an einem digitalen Doppelgänger im Computer geplant werden können – denn auch mögliche Szenarien für den Verlauf einer Erkrankung können Ritter und ihr Team mithilfe des Virtual Brain simulieren. So lassen sich möglicherweise in Zukunft Behandlungspläne frühzeitig anpassen.